[My UK Path] Episode 8: The Relay

My dad rarely shares his childhood stories. While I have lived with my parents for 27 years, still there are many accounts that I have never heard until I am married. Because he would only recount some pieces in his unusual moments of excitement, when the two dads, my father and father-in-law, enjoy their drinks in a family feast.

“F***, you did it; then why can’t I?” – It was his thought when he first saw a fresh Vietnamese graduate who had just returned after his overseas study. The guy was looking very smart in his suit and tie, arousing a fit of jealousy in my dad. My father, who had always been malnourished, determined that he would go abroad for his first degree.

And he did it. He was among the top list of the entry examination for the University of Military Engineering. As a result, he was sent to the then Union of Soviet Republics for an undergraduate programme. His childhood dream was fulfilled.

He passed on his dream to his first-born son. I can never recall how he was able to plant the idea, but somehow all that I was thinking during my junior high school years was an abroad study. It had to be an abroad study.

And his son did it. Not in the Soviet Union, but the United Kingdom. There is a similarity though: we were fully sponsored by a government.

I could not thank my father enough, and would like to give my thanks to Mr. Overseas graduate who then gave my father the dream.

“If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader.” – John Quincy Adams

It turned out that leadership could be simpler than I once thought. A man, only with his unusually smart look, could inspire another to dream more, and achieve more.

Today, six friends of mine are filled with joy upon knowing that they are selected for Chevening Awards, one of which I got last year. They gave me huge and sincere thanks for my modest support. I would like to pass the words on to my father and Mr. Overseas graduate.

The first and foremost criterion of Chevening is leadership. I hope that my new Chevening fellows understand: leadership is not over-literal. When your stories inspire people, you are leaders. A girl quitted her lucrative job to dedicate herself to community work; a young man challenged one of the most prestigious scholarships for Vietnamese despite the gross distortion of facts from those who brag of their knowledge about full scholarships; and many more to count. Let us share your stories.

I also hope that you acknowledge your one-in-a-lifetime privilege and opportunities with Chevening. Nobody knows what they will discover outside Vietnam. If it had not been the Chevening Scholarship, I would not have been to Minsk to meet friends from Eastern Europe and Central Asia. They are as young, beautiful, and bright as any person that I have met, no matter where they come from, Western Europe, America, Africa, or Asia. They yearn to step outside the Russian-speaking community, but their chances are slim. They speak Russian fluently, but only a few of them could communicate effectively in English. They may not suffer from material poverty, but they are mentally captive citizens. As I asked if anyone would like to go to the UK for a master’s degree, they were excited. I told them about the Chevening, places in the UK that I had been too. Some of them were really interested and stay in touch until now. They hope to become more, speak and write better in English and have such chance that I had. I could just wish the same for them, even if I could only help one or two.

I made it one of my jobs, and hope that my new Vietnamese Chevening friends share this dream. Help people who are less privileged than you. Because you are becoming a member of the Chevening community, where world’s young elites (how the FCO calls the Cheveners) support people to seize the opportunities they deserve.

————————————————————————–

Bố tôi không phải người hay tâm sự với con cái. Sống với ông ngoài 27 năm nay, có những chuyện tới tận lúc lấy vợ tôi mới được nghe. Chẳng hạn, trong những buổi “trà dư tửu hậu” của hai ông thông gia, bố tôi mới cao hứng đem những chuyện như dưới đây ra kể.

“Má mày, mày làm được thì chẳng lẽ tao lại không làm được?” – Lần đầu tiên nhìn thấy một du học sinh trở về nước, bố tôi đã nghĩ như vậy. Như lời ông kể lại, “nó” mặc complet bảnh bao, trông cực kì oách, khiến bố tôi ghen lắm. Kể từ hôm đó, ông quyết tâm phải đi du học bằng được.

Ấy thế rồi bố tôi đi du học thật. Ông thi đại học và thuộc nhóm đỗ đầu Đại học Quân sự (nay là Học viện Quân sự thì phải) nên được cử đi học ở Liên bang Xô-viết. Thế cũng coi như thỏa chí hướng.

Rồi lại đến lượt tôi tiếp tục chí hướng ấy. Tôi không thể nhớ nổi ngày bé ông nhồi nhét vào đầu tôi kiểu gì, nhưng lên đến cấp 2 trong đầu tôi chỉ nghĩ đến du học mà thôi. Phải là du học.

Xong rồi thì thằng con cả của ông cũng đi du học thật, tuy không phải ở Liên bang Nga hay Đông Âu mà là ở Vương quốc Anh. Có điểm chung là hai bố con tôi đều được một chính phủ nào đó cấp cho toàn bộ tiền học phí và ăn ở.

Tôi sẽ cảm ơn bố tôi nhiều nhất, và cả ông bác “du học sinh” ngày nào đã khiến bố tôi ghen tị.

“Nếu những hành động của bạn truyền cảm hứng cho người khác ước mơ nhiều hơn, học hỏi nhiều hơn, làm nhiều hơn và trở nên tốt đẹp hơn, bạn là một nhà lãnh đạo”. – John Quincy Adams

Sự lãnh đạo có thể là những điều giản dị hơn tôi vẫn nghĩ. Một người đàn ông chỉ qua sự nổi bật về diện mạo cũng có thể khiến người khác ước mơ lớn hơn, để rồi bước xa hơn.

Hôm nay, có 6 người bạn của tôi được học bổng Chevening. 6 người đó dù chỉ được tôi giúp đỡ chút ít trong quá trình ứng tuyển nhưng đều cảm ơn tôi nhiều. Những lời cảm ơn đó xin dành cho bố tôi và ông bác ngày nào.

Tiêu chí quan trọng nhất của Chevening là khả năng lãnh đạo. Tôi hi vọng những người bạn của tôi hiểu rằng sự lãnh đạo không phải thứ gì xa xôi. Khi câu chuyện của chính các bạn sẽ truyền cảm hứng cho người khác, bạn là một thủ lĩnh thực sự. Một bạn gái bỏ công việc thu nhập tốt để dành thời gian cho hoạt động xã hội; một thanh niên thử sức với học bổng hàng danh giá nhất cho người Việt Nam, bất chấp sự “nhiễu loạn” từ những cái mồm suốt ngày ra rả rằng mình rất hiểu về học bổng; và còn nhiều câu chuyện khác. Tôi chỉ mong các bạn chia sẻ câu chuyện của mình thôi.

Tôi cũng mong các bạn hiểu rằng các bạn vô cùng may mắn khi được học bổng Chevening. Không ai có thể biết mình sẽ khám phá ra những gì ở bên ngoài biên giới Việt Nam. Nếu như không có Chevening, tôi sẽ không bao giờ biết đến những nơi như Minsk ở Belarus, càng không thể gặp được những người bạn đến từ khắp các nước Đông Âu và Trung Á. Ở đó, có những con người trẻ trung, đẹp, và thông minh không kém một con người nào tôi từng gặp đến từ Tây Âu, Châu Mỹ hay Châu Phi. Họ cũng khao khát bước ra khỏi biên giới cộng đồng nói tiếng Nga nhưng cơ hội rất rất nhỏ. Ai trong số họ cũng nói tiếng Nga vanh vách, nhưng ít người giao tiếp được ổn bằng tiếng Anh. Họ không hề nghèo về vật chất, thậm chí đến từ nơi có mức thu nhập bình quân đầu người cao gấp 5 – 6 lần Hà Nội, nhưng rất tù túng về tinh thần. Khi tôi hỏi họ có muốn đến nước Anh học kiến trúc không, ai cũng rất hào hứng. Tôi kể cho họ về Chevening, về những nơi ở Liên hiệp Anh mà tôi đã đi qua. Có những người thật sự hứng thú và giữ liên lạc với tôi. Họ hy vọng có thể thay đổi chính mình, có thể giỏi tiếng Anh hơn và có cơ hội giống như tôi. Tôi cũng mong như vậy, ngay cả khi chỉ giúp được một hoặc hai người.

Tôi coi đó là một phần công việc của mình, và hi vọng những người bạn của tôi cũng có cùng chí hướng ấy. Hãy giúp đỡ bất cứ người nào chưa có cơ hội như các bạn. Vì các bạn sắp là thành viên của cộng đồng Chevening, nơi những tinh anh trẻ tuổi của thế giới (cách chính phủ Anh gọi những học giả Chevening) giúp mọi người tìm kiếm những cơ hội mà họ xứng đáng có được.

About Long D. Hoang

* Chevening Scholar 2015 - 2016. * Master of Architecture in Environmental Design, University of Nottingham.
This entry was posted in My UK path, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to [My UK Path] Episode 8: The Relay

  1. Bi jolly says:

    You are the true leader. Your stories just inspire me to apply for Chevening Scholarship, I know I stand a really slim chance, though. Not much experience, no voluntary work, hoping that my SOP is good enough to persuade the judge panel 🙂 keep it up bro, let’s pass on your expertise to some mediocre people like me. Time for Chevening scholarship is just around the corner, but I still have no idea how to start my SOP *feeling useless*

    Like

    • Long D. Hoang says:

      Thanks for the kind words 😀
      Well I would not encourage people to risk their time and effort. But it’s a fact that the majority of us got admitted to prestige by chance more often that with thorough and strategic consideration. (Not to deny their effort, but applying without even knowing or skimming the criteria is indeed an ignorant luck-based attempt. Yes, there are such freshmen going to Harvard.) So, at least try your best. Be different.

      Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    I love your writings which are so helpful to me. Moreover, it becomes my admiration for you as you are an architect but your English is so excellent. Well done, man.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Mục l | Long D. Hoang

  4. Pingback: Mục lục | Long D. Hoang

Leave a Reply

